Archons and Gods of Genshin Impact 2022

Archon Genshin Impact – A god with a high level of control over one of the elements. Each archon also has a region in Teyvat that worships the archon as a god. No Archon needs to rely on the powers of the Eye of God, instead they have something called the Heart of God – that which leads to divinity…

People who are recognized by the gods will be given the Eye of God to wield the elemental powers of that god. Those with the Eye of God also have a chance to rise to divinity and become one of the Source Gods.


Other gods

In addition to the Seven, other Archons (Gods of the Sources), Gods and god-like entities exist and existed. Some are only mentioned, others we can meet.

original terminology

In the original Chinese localization, there is a relatively clear classification system for gods, which some language localizations distort, causing confusion that can lead to misperceptions of the game’s plot, so Chinese terminology is presented here.

“God” – 神 (Shen)

In a broad sense, a generalized term that can be used to refer to the most powerful supernatural beings of Teyvat. Also, this hieroglyph is an integral part of the following terms. If the exact identity of the creature is unknown, and people consider it powerful, then the hieroglyph “god” is also present in its name. On the other hand, the root “god” is absent in the names of such powerful beings as adepts (except for the god of the hearth Marchosius) or Kanna Kapatsiri.

In a narrow sense – the gods of Celestia and the Seven Archons (with a reservation, see below).

In Russian localization it is translated as “god”, less often – “archon”.

“Demon God” – 魔神 (Scam)

A term that refers to the earthly gods that existed before the reign of the Seven Archons. Examples: Decarabian – 烈风的魔神 (Lefen de Moshen)“storm demon god”, Gui Zhong – 尘王魔神 (Chen Wang Moshen)“Demon God Lord of Dust” (sometimes the root demon god is removed from Gui Zhong’s name, leaving only “Lord of Dust”, which is due to her close relationship with Morax and speaks of her lower position, at least in the eyes of the inhabitants of Li Yue ), Hevria – 盐之魔神 (Yan zhi Mosheng)“the demon-god of salt”, and others.

Although the Seven Archons are not called “demonic gods”, they are, in their original nature. This explains the original name of the Archons’ quests in Chinese – 魔神任务 (Moshen Zhenwu)“the task of the demon gods”.

The name “god-demon” is not accidental. It refers to the first part of the magical grimoire “Small Key of Solomon”, namely to the demons of Goetia, whose names are given to all the “gods-demons” (i.e. Archons) and some other characters of the game (Paimon, Astaroth).

In Russian localization, it is almost always translated as “archon”, which is not accurate in terms of plot, but this is compensated by the almost complete analogy of the terms “demon god” in Chinese and “archon” in Russian localizations.

“Seven Gods” – 七神 (Qi Shen)

A term used to refer to the Seven Archons when speaking of all of them. There is no separate term denoting specifically one Archon from the Seven. The character for “god” is used instead, for example: Barbatos – 风神 (Fengshen)“wind god”, Morax – 岩神 (Yanshen)“god of stone”, and others.

The full name of the term is 尘世七执政 (Chenshi Qi Zhizheng), “The Seven Rulers of the Mortal World”. From him came the translation of all the “Seven Gods” (and in Russian localization also the “gods-demons”) as “Archon” (from the ancient Greek Άρχων (Archon) – “ruler”, “lord”, “ruler”). The name “Archon” itself is a reference to Gnosticism and the influence of the Gnostic worldview on the world and the game’s story.

In Russian localization it is translated as “archon”, sometimes the translation “god” is found.

“Original God” – 原神 (Yuansheng)

A term for mortal people who, for their heroic deeds, were honored to ascend Celestia and become the highest gods watching over Teyvat.[1] It is possible that this term also refers to other gods of Celestia, but there is no evidence of this yet.

The term is notable for the fact that it is the name of the game itself (Chinese 原神, yuanshen; Japanese原神, ganshin). The international name uses the Japanese romaji pronunciation of the term (“Genshin”) and the English word “Impact”, usually meaning “[масштабное] impact” and “[масштабный] hit”.

In Russian localization, it is translated as “the god of the source.”

Interesting Facts

  • In the game, in addition to the Seven Archons, there are and have existed many others. For example, the Archon of Salt, the Archon of Dust, the Archon of Vortex, etc. Whether they have their own element is unknown. Only the archons of the main seven have the heart of a god, in fact, for them and for the title there was a war of archons. As an example, Morax, having lost the Heart of God, ceased to be a geo archon, but still remained the Lord of the Stone.
  • The main Archons of Teyvat are Seven (Archons Anemo, Geo, Electro, Dendro, Hydro, Pyro and Cryo elements). The rest of the Archons are either just mentioned in the game, or killed, or do not have much power in Teyvat (the estate of the kingdom and the people who worship their Archon, as well as the possession of their element at the Eye of God). An example is the Archon Whirlwind Osial, who is encountered in the story as an antagonist. However, despite the fact that he is alive, he is sealed at the bottom of the sea near the Guyun stone forest, and therefore is considered defeated and is not included in the seven gods due to the lack of freedom as such (and therefore the absence of the kingdom, its element from the Eye of God, etc.). d.).
  • Archons are only one of the groups of gods of Teyvat, there are other gods (Gods of Celestia, Gods of the Source, Unknown God). Presumably, other gods in the form of the inhabitants of Celestia can be seen in the prologue of the Manga.


  1. Though Deinsleif’s words about Venness and Celestia’s interior scene at the end of the Manhua prologue hint that all is not as well as it seems.

Source link

Leave a Comment